Every morning I walk in my garden, looking at every plant, checking the moisture of the soil, pulling the odd weed (the rice straw and garden cloth have been fantastic at keeping weeds down – highly recommend!) and just generally basking in the beauty of what soil, compost, seeds, and a few sets of hands can accomplish. It’s so satisfying.

Even better – the garden is jamming!  I mean for real.  This year I got serious about fertilizer, and started all the plants with compost, lots of chicken manure, and concentrated organic vegetable fertilizer.  It has totally paid off, I almost feel like I cheated!  The tomatoes are huge, the peppers are better than they’ve ever looked by this time of year, and… well, let me just show you:

Image

Cherokee Purple and Jellybean cherry, Roma in the background, the Brandywine I started from a seed is also doing great but it’s out of the frame.

Image

Jalapeno pepper (the Poblanos and the garlic are also doing well but were hard to see in the picture so I cropped them)

Image

The Armenian melon and the Ambrosia melon (which miraculously survived getting stepped on by the dog) are also loving their spot.  So far no gopher attacks (thanks Junebug!)

Image

The Cocozelli di Napoli squash, started from seeds right in the barrel, are huge!

Image

Basil, Tarragon, Feverfew and one of the Calendula in the herb bed

Image

The Marketmore cucumber started from a seed, and the eggplant.

Image

The little Padron peppers got a late start because they were so hard to find! I’m definitely saving seeds from these guys for next year.

The blackberries are flowering, the strawberry patch is full of berries (on the small side, but sweet!), the tomatillos are doubled in size, and the peach and the apple tree both have fruit.  I’ve never had such a varied garden before, and I have to say, I feel like I’m sitting on top of a gold mine, looking down and seeing the Mother Lode glinting in the sun! Eureka!

