Image

Alive!

Meet the three new chicks who just spent the night in the big girl room and didn’t get murdered.  They don’t have names yet, but their aliveness is definitely doing it for me.  They had been living in the chick cage inside the chicken run for a week, so the hens could get used to them.  But you never know.  Given the recent losses here at Henge and Hollow Farm, I was dreading the thought of letting them out of the cage and finding them pecked to death an hour later, but the chick cage was getting disgusting in this heat.  It was a cesspool of sour, mushy crumble feed, spilled water, and bird crap.  I was trying to deep bed it with wood shavings but it did no good. Filthy little creatures. It was making me gag, so I had to let them out.  Thank you Flora and Fauna for not being the murderous wenches we all know your kind can be.  I really appreciate it.

While out there I spent a little quality time with the boys.  Hank loves to be brushed.

Image

He gets this real goofy look on his face, like “Awww Yeah.”

Image

I feel like they have changed a little since Butter died.  They are a little more thoughtful or something.  I know, I’m probably projecting. But so be it.  I am glad that they seem calmer and sweeter to me.

Here’s summer salad recipe.

Sigrid’s Beet and Egg Salad

Roast or boil, then peel 4 fresh beets

Hard boil, then peel 4 eggs

coarsely chop all and put into a bowl.

Garnish with a tablespoon finely chopped chives

Season with lots of fresh black pepper and Ume Plum Vinegar (if you don’t have that, red wine vinegar is fine but you’ll need to add salt)

