Oh dear. One of my favorite bloggers, Cold Antler Farm, just turned me on to a new place to spend all the money I don’t have.

Without becoming an ad for said place (ask me if you do want the deets), let me just say that it was way too easy to ring up close to $100 worth of thisses and thats.  Most exciting: finally a pair of half chaps and paddock boots!

Image

In black, natch.

When I was a kid I mostly just rode in my tennies and jeans.  Lately I’ve been riding in some motorcycle boots (whaddygonnado?) but the chafing and sweating of my legs against the horse, boot, and/or stirrup is most unpleasant, and recently produced painful rubbies on my leg AND on Hammer’s side. I’m not sure why this is happening now when it never happened when I was kid, but I’m going to go ahead and add it to the list of crap things about getting old.

I even have a little scar.

Image

I know what it’s like to look death in the face and live to tell the tale.

I also got some spurs.  Nervous about that, never ridden with spurs before. But Hammer is trained for spurs, and a lot of the dressage work requires cues that he expects to feel from a spur. I could try without, but since the little bitty rubber spurs were so cheap and seemed so humane, I’m going to see how Hammer and I feel about this new step in our relationship.  Another new development is that I am going to start riding in an Australian saddle. For those who are unfamiliar, they look like this:

Image

Not my actual saddle.

As far as saddles go, the typical choices are Western and English.  If I had my drothers, I’d ride English, but with big ladies like myself, it’s much better for the horse if you distribute your weight over a larger surface area.  English saddles cover a small surface area of the horse’s back so they aren’t good for me, or more importantly, for Hammer.  I’ve been riding in a Western saddle, which has a huge surface area, but I don’t like it.  Too big and bulky and too separated from the natural shape of the horse.  I feel like I’m sitting in a lawn chair that’s 5 1/2 feet off the ground, which is not really that fun.  Folks think they’re more secure because of the horn, but I feel the opposite.  So I’m hoping the Aussie will be my Goldilocks saddle and be juuuust right.

See you soon, boyo!

Image

