As of yesterday evening the Robbers fire is up to 1300 acres and is only 10% contained. The smoke is dense and thick around my house right now, everything is eerie and yellow.  So far the fire is following the American River but hasn’t jumped it yet, and it would still have to cross I-80 and a man-made lake to get to my place.  Others have been less fortunate, of course, although I hear that there are people with stock trailers volunteering to help get animals out of the evacuation zones, and most of the fire is luckily down in the steep river canyon, which makes it hard to fight, but there aren’t many homes to burn.

Hard to close all the windows on a hot day, but that’s what we’re doing. Yesterday it was smoky like this in the morning but cleared up by midday. Hopefully that happens again.

Image

Photo by Larry and Pam Risser via Yubanet.com

Believe it or not, I got a huge amount of work done yesterday despite all this excitement. More on that later.

