Or zucchini, apparently. Although I’m real glad they tried every single one just to be sure.

Image

Deer keep an open mind.

Image

If you don’t like something, then try, try again.  That’s their motto.

Image

Venison is delicious.  That’s my motto.

Total losses: ALL my ripe romas I was waiting to harvest for the party (and they ate all the flowers to make sure that plant is done for the season), almost my ENTIRE extra hot jalapeno plant (seriously, deer?), most of my poblanos and about half of my padrons. Most of the leaves off my eggplant. All the fruit off my Cherokee purple and early Annie. They knocked over my zucchini after they ate half of each fruit, and they ate about 1/3 of the leaves off my cucumber.

Goes without saying that someone left the gate open last night. Actually, for good measure, collectively we left ALL THREE gates open last night. Because there’s nothing like starting your super fun party weekend feeling like a deflated balloon with the word “jackass” written on it.

