Available Immediately: One story hive body, partially furnished by previous tenants, could use some spring cleaning.  Permitted for up to two additional stories, as needed. All mod cons. Nice neighborhood, lavender bushes nearby. If interested, call.

Available Immediately: One story hive body, partially furnished by previous tenants, could use some spring cleaning. Permitted for up to two additional stories, as needed. All mod cons. Nice neighborhood, lavender bushes nearby. If interested, call.

Holy smokes! That was a close one.

Over a month ago I contacted my bee guru and asked if I could buy another spring nuc from him this year (lost my last colony to varroa, but I want to try again). He emailed me back and said he put me on ‘the list’ and that I’d hear from him when the nucs were ready.

I did not hear from him. Hmmmm. I checked his website about a week ago and it said that due to heavy colony losses last year and super high demand, all the April nucs had sold out. I thought to myself, “Does that mean no bees even for the people ‘on the list’?”  And then I did nothing about it.  Well, I procrastinated.  I say this with the utmost reverence, Randy is a great teacher but very frenetic and can come across as, shall we say, brusque.  He doesn’t cotton to time-wasting questions and pleasantries. It makes it a little nerve-wracking to communicate with him. So I put it off.

Well, today for some reason I thought, “Gee if I want bees I’d better follow up with Randy or find em elsewheres, pronto!”  I sent out another email and got a prompt reply that I’d inadvertently been left off the email list of people who’d reserved nucs, and that I am free to come pick one up this weekend!

Now I know what I’m doing on Saturday. Hooray!

